GM4ULS ham radio station

a QRM-free zone!

Anytone AT5555-N try-out

Posted by gm4uls on November 18, 2011

The stack of main operating radios as it currently stands. The FT-847 is my general HF rig. The FT-101ZD I have permanently on 40m because it has full coverage. Slung underneath the desk is the new Anytone AT5555-N, which I have been trying out on 10m AM and FM.

There’s a good review of it here that makes any such in-depth review by me superfluous. However, I will say what I think about it after half a day of use.

Firstly it has the look and feel of a 1980s CB rig. No surprise there, as it does sell in the illegal CB market after a few modifications. I don’t object to the looks, and the finish is pretty good. The way the front panel glows in the dark is very handy, and I wish this slightly vulgar touch would actually spread to the expensive ham rigs – the only disadvantage with that is that there would be more to go wrong!

The supplier advertised a USB lead and software but this was not in the box. Nor did the manual contain any information on how to do the channel programming. This isn’t a huge problem, however, because the standard settings allow for fairly easy navigating. I do intend to note down the scope of bands A to F on a card, so that I have a quick ‘look-up’ guide.

The microphone seems tiny and very lightweight, but I have had good reports on my audio from across the pond, just so long as I don’t ‘talk it up’ too much. One thing that I have noticed, however, is that there is a loud ‘clunk’ over the speaker every time I push or let go of the PTT. There’s a similar ‘clunk’ when the radio is switched on.

The 'night watch' function of the front panel - sorry about image quality.

Receive seems good on AM and FM. I am using an external speaker to give a little more bass and volume. It’s the speaker that goes with my FT-101ZD and it’s good as a foot-rest too! The signal from the KQ2H repeater has quite a pronounced hum on it that I don’t detect when listening on the FT-847. I don’t know whether this is a product of the rig’s receiver or a low frequency heterodyne from the other repeaters on the same channel.

Anyhow, yesterday I operated through KQ2H using only the 12W standard power, and also used the rig to drive a Zetagi amplifier to about 50W on AM.

Overall I am fairly pleased with the rig. The linear amplifier is a different matter, but more of that later.

Leave a Reply

 
