GM4ULS ham radio station

a QRM-free zone!

Sometimes someone sends you a cracker!

Posted by gm4uls on May 30, 2020

This card arrived today in a small bundle from my QSL Manager. It is probably the most flamboyant piece of “wallpaper” I have ever received. Thanks, Eric.

I have also just acquired an LDG IT-100 automatic ATU. This works very well with the IC-7300, which was a little unhappy at certain band edges. It tunes very quickly but, unlike my (dead) MFL-993B, does not simply work from your transmission and remember its setting, it requires you to hit the tuning button every time you arrive on a frequency with a problematic SWR. It does remember that it tuned there before, or that it tuned to a close frequency, but it still requires a push of the button.* The IT-100 tunes up to 6m, so while the sporadic E season lasts, I’m thinking of employing a coax switch, so that I can use my temporary dipole. I’m not a great believer in having lossy devices in line, but I will do some comparative tests.

[Edit: The tuner did not like looking into the coax switch, so I’m thinking again.]

[Edit: *Only if you don’t read the blinkin’ instructions!]

Leave a comment