GM4ULS ham radio station

a QRM-free zone!

Is there a doctor in the house?

Posted by gm4uls on June 14, 2023

Yeah, the old joke – someone sticks up his hand and says, “I’m a Doctor of Philosophy – will that do?”

I have kept you up-to-date with my later-in-life university career. You may recall this post about my Bachelor’s degree, and this one about my Master’s. Well, I have now had conferred upon me the degree of Doctor of Philosophy by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of St Andrews. Wow. Yeah. I know.

Is that the end of things? No, even in my 70s I am applying for research fellowships, and I have so many ongoing research projects that I sometimes feel I’m working harder now than I was on my thesis!

And meanwhile, how about amateur radio? Well, I’m back at home after the three-year stint as part of the resident warden team at one of St Andrews’ student residences (in my case a complex of flats with 1600 occupants!), so that means my study/library/computer room is – guess what – also my radio shack. At the moment I’m concentrating on 10m, mid-afternoon and early evening, when there appears to be a regular opening to South America. Not sure of the “mechanics” of that, but if I hear more, I’ll let you know.

Anyhow, my amateur friends locally in Perth wanted to see pictures of my graduation, so I’ll put up a few here. With me in the graduation procession is my friend Roberta – we were the only two new PhD graduates this year from the School of English.

.

Any advertisements below this line, or elsewhere in this blog, are a product of the platform, and do not represent any endorsement by me.

_________________________

Leave a comment